Our History

Founded in 1971 by a group of concerned citizens, Lamprey Health Care began as an information and referral service with the goal of connecting people to health services. The group quickly realized the need for more community-based service providers. In 1972, the group started the Senior Transportation program, and in 1973 the first primary care office opened in Newmarket, NH. In 1981 the organization added a location in Raymond, NH. Over the decades, the Newmarket and Raymond centers moved and expanded facility space to meet the growing community needs. In 2000 the Nashua Center was added, located in the downtown area.

As we grew geographically, programs also expanded. Prenatal care was added in the 80s and school-based dental care in the 90s. In the 2000s, we added integrated behavioral health, substance use disorder services, medication-assisted therapy, and the Nurse Practitioner Fellowship Program. We have also grown our community collaborations. In 1997, we established the Southern NH Area Health Education Center, and in 2015 we became the fiscal agent for the Seacoast Public Health Network.

As we approach our 50th Anniversary, we look forward to adding to our history of service.


Awards & Recognition

Our mission includes providing patient centered care.



For more than 45 years, Lamprey Health Care has been a leader in community health, both within the state and across the country. Our Board of Directors, Executive Team, and Clinical Team have all won numerous awards for their dedication and excellence in the field of health care.

Lamprey Health Care is a recognized Patient Centered Medical Home (PCMH)  since 2013. In 2020, we once again received PCMH recognition from the National Committee for Quality Assurance.

Other recent awards include:


Hunt Blair Leadership Award

Vasuki Nagaraj, MD, was recognized by Bi-State Primary Care Association with the Hunt Blair Leadership Award. This award recognizes the potential every individual has to improve lives, as demonstrated by the brilliance, tenacity, and vision of Hunt Blair. The award also recognizes Dr. Nagaraj’s excellence in improving the care and health outcomes of patients.

The Business of the Year Award

Lamprey Health Care was honored by the Newmarket Business Association in recognition of our role as a community service provider in the town of Newmarket.

The Community Partner Award

Lamprey Health Care was honored by the Raymond Coalition for Youth (RCFY) for playing an instrumental role in the success of RCYF to promote substance abuse awareness and prevention programs.

The President’s Award

Sandra K. Pardus was recognized by Bi-State Primary Care Association for her outstanding contributions to assure access for vulnerable populations and tireless engagement in activities well beyond the scope of her day to day job.

The Business of the Year Award

Business NH Magazine selected Lamprey Health Care as Business of the Year in the Health Care category in recognition of business excellence in the state of New Hampshire.

New Hampshire Outstanding Clinician Award

Bi-State Primary Care Association recognized Jeremy James, MD, and Sarah Zachos, MD, Family Physicians in the Raymond Center, for exemplary leadership skills and their impact on the health of the community they serve.

Community Service Award

Cynthia Giguere-Unrein, Director on Lamprey Health Care’s Board, was honored by Bi-State Primary Care Association for her considerable volunteer efforts and impact on the vulnerable populations of New Hampshire.

HIMMS Davies Award of Excellence

Community Health Access Network and Lamprey Health Care were recognized for their excellence in the implementation and value of health information technology and electronic health records.

Physician of the Year Award

The New Hampshire Academy of Family Practice recognized Dr. Paul Friedrichs, MD, Family Physician in the Newmarket Center as Physician of the Year.

Jeffrey T. Latman Award for Leadership in Health Care Finance

The National Association of Community Health Centers recognized Sandra Pardus, Chief Financial Officer, for her achievements as an outstanding fiscal officer.

Sandra T Hicks Minority Health Champion Award

Paula Smith and Florentina Dinu were honored for their outstanding leadership and devotion to minority health issues in New Hampshire.


New Hampshire Healthy Kids recognized Rossy Lopez, Patient Advocate in the Nashua Center, for her outstanding community-based efforts to identify and enroll children in the Healthy Kids programs.

Our Supporters

Our mission made possible by donated PPE

Spring 2020 Spotlight

We are thankful to all who contributed to our ongoing COVID-19 response efforts. A full list of supporters can be found on our campaign donation page. Thank you!

Winter 2020 Spotlight

Colon Cancer Coalition
Thank you to the Colon Cancer Coalition for a grant to help remove barriers to patients who need colon screenings. Their support will help us provide transportation to patients who have trouble getting to appointments, as well as help cover the cost of fit tests and other costs associated with screening.
NH Colorectal Screening Program (NHCRSP)
Thank you to NHCRSP for awarding us a grant to help us increase colorectal cancer screenings for our patients. These funds are so vital, as we know, early detection saves lives.
Yoga in Action
Thank you to Yoga in Action for a donation of close to 200 Bombas socks. We are excited to provide these to patients in need, especially those with diabetes who have a higher chance of developing neuropathy, vascular disease, and infection, especially in the legs and feet.

Lamprey Health Care receives funding from a variety of sources, including:

  • Federal, state, and local government grants
  • Private foundations
  • Donations from businesses and individuals
  • Medicaid, Medicare, and private insurances
  • Patient fees

We thank the following agencies for their support.

  • US Public of Health Services, HRSA
  • NH Department of Health and Human Services (Bureau of Elderly and Adult Services, Breast and Cervical Cancer Program, Bureau of Drug and Alcohol Services, Division of Public Health Services)
  • NH Department of Transportation
  • Bi-State Primary Care Association
  • Dartmouth College, HRSA, Bureau of Health Professions
  • Endowment for Health
  • Exeter Hospital
  • IDN 3 Greater Nashua Region
  • IDN 6 Strafford County / Seacoast Region, Connections for Health
  • Lowell Five Cent Bank
  • City of Manchester
  • City of Nashua, Citizens Advisory Commission
  • Nashua Rotary West
  • NH Charitable Foundation
  • Rotary Club of Manchester
  • T. Rowe Price, and Roland & Joan Theberge


    We thank the following communities for their support.

    • Amherst
    • Atkinson
    • Auburn
    • Barrington
    • Brentwood
    • Brookline
    • Candia
    • Danville
    • Deerfield
    • Durham
    • East Kingston
    • Epping
    • Fremont
    • Greenville
    • Hampstead
    • Hollis
  • Kingston
  • Lee
  • Merrimack
  • Newfields
  • Newmarket
  • Newton
  • North Hampton
  • Northwood
  • Nottingham
  • Plaistow
  • Raymond
  • Sandown
  • Seabrook
  • Stratham
  • Wilton